1. Home
  2. Credits
  3. Using Credits

Using Credits

Credits are used to submit proposals for jobs. Submitting a proposal to a job requires up to 6 Credits, depending on factors such as the size and type of project.

Use Credits
Use Credits to submit proposals for all kinds of jobs on Upwork.

You do not need to use Credits:

– When a client invites you to bid
– When a client sends you an offer
– When you send a proposal within an Enterprise Talent Cloud
Add Credits
Credits cost $0.15 (USD) each and are sold in bundles of 10, 20, 40, 60, and 80. To purchase additional Credits:

Go to Settings
Select Memberships & Credits
Click Add More Credits
Once you’ve selected the bundle you wish to purchase, click Add Credits and your account will be automatically charged.

Returned Credits
Credits may be returned under the following circumstances:

If a project is canceled by the client without making a hire, the Credits used on that proposal will be returned to you for reuse. This does not apply to expired job posts.
If a job post has been removed by Upwork for a Terms of Service violation, the Credits used on that proposal will be returned for you to reuse
Note: Withdrawing your proposal will not return your Credits.

Credits Balance and Limits
To check your balance of available Credits, go to Find Work. Your available Credits balance is shown on the right.

Each month, your unused Credits will rollover until you reach the account maximum.

Freelancer Basic and Freelancer Plus: The maximum Credits Limit is 140. You can rollover up to 140 Credits each month.
Agency Basic and Agency Plus: The maximum Credits Limit is 400. You can rollover up to 400 Credits each month.

Updated on August 11, 2020

Was this article helpful?